In Texas, statutory rape is considered an assault on a child. The age of consent for minors is 17, and any sexual act with a child under that age is considered a crime. An adult looking at charges that involve committing a sex crime against a child generally face harsh judgment from friends, family, and colleagues. Individuals often face a tarnished reputation even before having the chance to defend themselves in a court of law.

If you are facing these charges, it is vital to obtain a practiced Frisco statutory rape lawyer right away. A determined sex crimes attorney could discuss your arrest and case details with you to prepare a strong defense for trial.

Classification of Statutory Rape Charges

State law breaks statutory rape charges down into three separate categories. Those categories include:

Indecency With a Child

Indecency with a child is the act of an adult touching a child under the age of 17 for sexual gratification. In Frisco, statutory rape charges do not require the act of sexual penetration. A guilty verdict results in a second-degree felony, a prison sentence of two to 20 years, and financial penalties up to $10,000.

Sexual Assault

Sexual assault of a child is the act of having penetrative sex with an individual who is under the age of 17. Penalties for a conviction include a second-degree felony, a possible prison sentence of two to 20 years, up to $10,000 in fines.

Aggravated Sexual Assault

Having penetrative sex with a child who is 14 years old or younger is considered aggravated sexual assault under state law. Penalties for a conviction include a first-degree felony, a prison sentence of five to 99 years, and fines up to $10,000.

Each of these offenses are severe, and anyone facing charges should take them seriously. If a law enforcement officer arrests an individual on suspicion of statutory rape allegations, the individual should immediately reach out to an attorney in Frisco for legal counsel and recommendations.

Romeo and Juliet Law in Frisco

Under Texas Penal Code Section 22.021, a juvenile between 14 and 17 can legally consent to intercourse with another person as long as the person is within three years of their age. For example, if a 14-year-old and a 17-year-old engaged in a consensual relationship, they would not break any state laws.

If an individual faces statutory rape charges but believes their case falls under the Romeo and Juliet rule, it is vital that they reach out to an experienced Frisco lawyer. In these circumstances, seasonal representation could work with the state on the individual’s behalf to potentially drop the charges.

Meet With a Frisco Statutory Rape Attorney

If an individual is accusing you of statutory rape, it is crucial that you understand your rights and the severity of a conviction. These crimes have some of the harshest penalties in the state with the steepest fines and longest prison sentences.

A conviction of assaulting a child could turn your life upside down and have lifelong implications. Fortunately, a dedicated Frisco statutory rape lawyer with more than two decades of experience could investigate and help you plan a solid defense for the most favorable outcome possible. Call today to get started on your case.

Team of Advocates. Consultations. Representing all of Texas.
ARRANGE A CONSULTATION

    What is 1 x 8 ?

    Barbieri Law Firm

    Barbieri Law Firm
    N/a