Indecency with Child by Contact
Most sex crime charges involving a child are serious felonies in the state of Texas. Unlike with other offenses, most people accused or charged with a sex crime face charges or accusations based on the word of another person. The cards are stacked against those wrongly accused in many ways – the public often assumes the accused is guilty, prosecutors in counties across North Texas are extremely emboldened when it comes to sex offenses, and many people incorrectly believe a person is “innocent UNTIL proven guilty” rather than “innocent UNLESS proven guilty.”
The burden is on the state – it falls on prosecutors to prove their case against you “beyond any reasonable doubt.” We believe in your presumption of innocence and can assure you that the Plano false accusation lawyers at Barbieri Law Firm do not take the harm to your reputation and future lightly.
Who you hire to represent you matters. You need North Texas lawyers who aggressively investigate and fight these kinds of charges. Led by an award-winning lawyer with over 20 years of experience, our Plano lawyers are highly experienced and sought after as an expert in the field of sex crimes. If you are facing sex-related charges, it is crucial for you to retain competent legal counsel right away.
LAW AND PUNISHMENT FOR INDECENCY WITH A CHILD BY CONTACT IN TEXAS
Texas law makes it illegal to “engage in sexual contact” with a minor with intent to arouse or gratify the “sexual desire” of any person. It is common for people to use the term “minor” synonymously with “child.” The law defines a child victim in sex crimes (often used interchangeably with minor) as a person under 17 years of age, or a person who the accused believes to be under 17 years of age. Tex. Penal Code § 21.21(a)(2) defines “sexual contact” to include any 1) touching through clothing any part of the genitals of a child OR 2) part of the body of a child with the anus, breast, or any part of the genitals of a child or of a person.
A conviction for this offense is punishable as a Second-degree felony, with a possible sentence ranging from 2-20 years in prison. In addition to a lengthy prison sentence, a person found guilty of committing indecency with a child by contact may have to pay a fine of up to $10,000, register as a Texas Sex Offender, and deal with life-long negative social stigmas.
AGGRESSIVE DEFENSE AGAINST INDECENCY WITH CHILD BY CONTACT
When you hire our firm, you can be assured that you are in good hands with award-winning attorneys who relentlessly pursue justice for you and genuinely care about helping you every step throughout the criminal process. At Barbieri Law Firm, over half of the people we represent have been accused or charged with a sex offense.
Contact our office to find out how we can help you fight the accusations or charges of indecency with a child you suddenly face.
Found Not Guilty
Potential Sentence: Up to 20 years of federal prison
Found Not Guilty
Potential Sentence: Minimum of 25 years prison, up to 99 years with a $10,000 fine AND 20 years in prison on each of the Indecency counts; each with a $10,000 fine
Found Not Guilty
Potential Sentence: One year in prison
Barbieri Law Firm, P.C. Founding Attorney Heather Barbieri Featured in D Magazine
What Should I Know About the Federal Sentencing Guidelines?
- Criminal Defense
How May False Statements Made to a Bank Become a Federal Offense?
- Criminal Defense,
What are the Consequences for Misusing Opioids?
- Drug Charges
What are White-Collar Cyber Crimes? | Building a Defense
- White Collar Crimes
What is Prescription Drug Fraud?